It feels like I’ve eaten enough grilled veggie burgers and dogs to feed a small country over the last four days. Although they are delicious and easy enough to transport to a bbq, I think I’ve had my share for a couple of months.

It was at this moment, in preparing to gather vegan friendly options for my family to take to the bbq, I thought about this…VEGAN ELOTE!!

Elote (the Mexican name for corn on the cob) always reminds me of summertime Chi. Always! Unless you frequent the lady that sells Elote in front of the bodega by my house. She sells all year long (#hustle).

Before I became vegan (again), I used to scour the Northside–Clark Street to be more specific, between Howard and Devon for my Elote lady. Yumminess! I loved loved loved this and always wished for it whenever I pass the vendors on the street.

So I was too excited to try my hand at making vegan elote for my peoples. Here’s the recipe:

Nina’s Vegan Elote*

Ingredients:

Grilled or boiled corn on the cob

Follow Your Heart Vegenaise

Earth balance Vegan Margarine

Galaxy Vegan Parmesan Topping

dash of cayenne and chili powder (optional)

Directions:

1) Using a sharp knife, cut cooked corn from the cob. You can use a slice of wax paper to make it easier to put into your cup.

2) Pour corn into a   glass and add the remainder of the ingredient s to taste.

Can you say yummy?!

Yesterday, after a sleepy afternoon, we all got up and went to Foster beach. I completely forgot it was the fourth of July. The beach was SO crowded. Nonetheless, we were able to make a offering in peace and then chill a little in the sand.

It was Ahimsa’s first real trip to the beach (she had been before but was probably too little to remember). She seemed very inquisitive about the sand. After a few moments of touching (and almost eating), she really dug it. She loved rubbing her feet in the sand.

We hung around until the pollutants from the fireworks became too much for us to breathe.

As this was a long, weekend (oh, work, sigh), I was truly excited to have an extra day to hang with family but I couldn’t help to reflect on why I had off. I woke up this morning with a powerful message in my inbox. A perfect message that eloquently expressed what I had been pondering all weekend.

A dear friend sent me a this message, a truth reminder about July 4th.

What, to the American slave, is your 4th of July?

I answer: a day that reveals to him, more than all other days in the year, the gross injustice and cruelty to which he is the constant victim. To him, your celebration is a sham; your boasted liberty, an unholy license; your national greatness, swelling vanity; your sounds of rejoicing are empty and heartless; your denunciations of tyrants, brass fronted impudence; your shouts of liberty and equality, hollow mockery; your prayers and hymns, your sermons and thanksgivings, with all your religious parade, and solemnity, are, to him, mere bombast, fraud, deception, impiety, and hypocrisy – a thin veil to cover up crimes which would disgrace a nation of savages.
There is not a nation on the earth guilty of practices, more shocking and bloody, than are the people of these United States, at this very hour.-Frederick Douglass
With that, I’ll leave you. Hoping your weekend was safe, yummy, and fun!

 

*Please note that I am not Mexican and I’m sure folk have their special family recipes or a more authentic way of making Elote. For more a more authentic experience, please feel free to support your local vendor.

