So, I’m not a “check the postal mail everyday” kind of person. Who needs another bill on the coffee table anyway? But when I checked my mail box the other day, the only thing that was in there was an envelope addressed to Green Diva Super. I immediately knew what it was!

Culturally appropriate breastfeeding activism SWAG!!

yes, yes, yes!

Pretty cool, aren’t they?!! I was gifted them by one of my most favoritest bloggers: Lactation Journey.

Since the beginning of my breastfeeding activism, I have been seeking out (read: stalking, lol) other Black women that address the topics of breastfeeding and health disparities in the Black community. It was right before the launch the Free to Breastfeed site that I came across Lactation Journey and was instantly hooked.

Lactation Journey is written by Acquanda S. who is a feminist, an anthropologist, and of course, a Black woman passionate about breastfeeding in the Black community. She writes about her journey to becoming an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC), one of the breastfeeding-support professions that desperately need more Black women becoming certified in. In the state of Washington, home of Lactation Journey, Black IBCLCs are rare, if not non-existent.

Here is what Acquanda says about breastfeeding and her “lactation journey”:

This is a journey. It is not simply a task where I learn the steps of attaching an infant to its mother’s breast. That’s the easy part, I’m sure. I am hoping to explore this area via a holistic approach — examining cultural traditions, ritual, language, and all aspects of infant feeding and nurturing through the various ways it is expressed and experienced. My dream is to help create and maintain a positive atmosphere for Black women and all women who choose to participate in this wonderful, healthy tradition, and to encourage other women and men to advocate this area — especially those ‘non-traditional’ ones who, like me, do not have children, and who are often seen as not needing to concern ourselves with this area, to join in.

So check out Lactation Journey and get yourself some of those cool-a*! buttons now!

Jeanine @greendivasuper

